1. See Detail

The 4 c’s

What is a Diamond Cut?

Different from a diamond shape which is about the outline nature of diamond, a diamond’s cut refers to its symmetry, proportions and polish (reflective qualities). The 4 C’s of a diamond are Color, Clarity, Carat weight and Cut, in which the diamond’s cut is undoubtedly the most imperative and most challenging of the four Cs of a diamond to understand.

A diamond’s brilliance is greatly determined on its cut. The quality of the cut does make a modification in how a diamond appears. That brightness that seems to come from the heart of a diamond is the brilliance that is created by a good cut. What leads to the diamond’s brilliance are the good angles and finish of any diamond which is determining factor of its ability to handle light.

What makes a diamond Sparkle?

For a well cut diamond, light enters through the top (table) and passes to the bottom ( Pavilion) making it to reflect from one side to the other before sparkling back out of the diamond through the top to the viewer’s eye. Diamonds are so mesmerizing due to the brilliance caused by how the reflect back light, hence having the fiery and brilliance effect.

For a poorly cut diamond, the light comes in through the top, reaches the facets and then escapes out from the sides or bottom of the diamond instead of shinning back to the viewer’s eyes. Less brilliance is when less light is reflected back to the eye.

Importance of Good Proportions

An excellent cut diamond is the one that follow a set of formulae intended to maximize brilliance. These formulae are noted in a diamond’s proportions, most importantly how the depth matches to the diameter, and how the diameter of the top equates to the diameter of the diamond.

A diamond cut is quite significant whereby a number of grading methods have been established to assist buyers conclude the cut of a specific diamond. They stick to a set of formulae calculates to maximize brilliance. Usually, these grades are as follows (from the lowest;)

  • Fair and Poor

  • Good

  • Very Good and

  • Excellent


During the natural formation procedure, many diamonds end up having some inner flaws or inclusions. The clarity of the diamond is determined by the visibility, number and size of these inclusions. A diamond that will be highly valued is the one that is clearer, hence has more brilliance.

A diamond’s clarity refers to the existence of detecting physical characteristics on blemishes and within inclusions the stone. All flaws in a diamond are reoffered to as inclusions, for the purpose of grading.

Diamonds Clarity Grading

It takes a diamond to be under a 10x loupe magnification for it to be graded. The grades vary from stones which are wholly free from inclusions and blemishes (Flawless), to the ones that have large, dense inclusions that are noticeable to the naked eye.

The grades are classified as below;

I1-12-13- Included (three grades). Inclusions are visible to the naked eye but can be clearly seen under 10x magnification.

SI1- SI2- Faintly Included (two grades). Microscopic inclusions that are easily identified under 10x magnification.

VS1- VS2- Very Faintly included (two grades). Microscopic inclusions not easily seen under 10x magnification.

VVS1-VVS2- Very Very Faintly included (two grades). Microscopic inclusions very difficult to detect under 10x magnification by a proficient gemologist.

IF- Internally Flawless. Has no internal flaws, however has some surface flaws. Very uncommon

F- Flawless. Has no internal or external flaw. Exceedingly uncommon

The above grading displays that inclusions are NOT visible to the naked eye for clarity grades F through SI. A diamond’s clarity grade has no impact on the diamond’s appearance, but it has on its value.

Which Clarity Grade is best for you?

It is obvious that everyone would desire to have a flawless diamond which is quite rare and high-priced; fortunately a diamond does not have to be flawless to be exquisite where;

You can get a reasonably priced “eye clean” diamonds, which according to gemologists the inclusions are not visible to the naked eye. SI1 and SI2 are in this grade and are still a great choice.

For the reason that not everybody can note inclusions and not all visible inclusions are equally visible, grade I1-I3 can be an affordable great option. This is because I1-I3 diamonds are graded as included, however within the I1 range may only have 1 inclusion which is visible to the naked eye.

To those that value and appearance is a concern, diamonds with VVS and VS grades are excellent choices. There are clients who are not interested in quality where I2-I3 diamonds would be a choice for them as they have many visible inclusions.


Naturally, most diamonds seem colorless, but essentially have slight tones of brown and yellow. The closer the diamond comes to colorless, the more valuable it is. When jewelers are referring to a diamond’s color, actually they mean the presence or the absence of color in white diamonds. Color in a diamond never changes over time since is a result of the composition of the diamond.

The most colorless stones are the most valuable since they appear more striking as they permit most refraction of light making the diamond to sparkle brightly. Brilliance is obstructed in off white diamonds since they absorb light.

However, there are natural fancy color diamonds which are not placed in this category. Naturally colored diamonds can be in any color from bright yellow to green to blue, where they are very expensive since they are quite rare. Their intense color gives them more value.

Color Grading

GIA’s professional color scale is used by most jewelers to grade “whiteness” or “colorlessness” of a diamond. The color scale starts with the highest rating of D that represents colorlessness and goes down the alphabet all the way to Z, as it continues to grade stones with traces of very faint or light yellowish or brownish color.

Which is the best diamond color to choose?

According to GIA’s professional color scale, diamonds graded D through F are the rarest hence the most valued and desirable. Nevertheless, diamonds that are graded faintly less than colorless are quite admirable as well. It only takes a trained eye to note the ‘no color’ in diamonds graded G through I.

Sometime color can be minimized through carefully selecting the appropriate jewelry in which to mount your diamond, this can be in diamonds graded J through M which are characterized by a very, very faint hint of yellow. When the jewelry setting that the diamond will be mounted to is yellow gold, you can use a diamond with light yellowish or brownish color as this will reflect the metal that secures it. On the other hand, when your setting is white gold or platinum, you may wish to opt for a higher color grade.

Actually there are people who generally prefer the warmer glow of lower color diamonds, whilst many people strive to buy the most colorless diamond they can afford.


The unit of weight by which a diamond is measured is known as a carat. 200 milligrams or 0.2 grams is equal to one carat. The term points is commonly used as there are 100 points in one carat, therefore 50 pts =.50ct which is half a carat.

Karat is the method of determining the purity of gold, many people think is the same meaning as carat.

The procedure that creates a diamond occurs in very infrequent circumstances, and usually the natural materials needed are found only in small quantities. Unlike smaller diamonds, larger diamonds are uncovered less often, hence them being rare and have a greater value per carat. This is why, the price of a diamond rises exponentially to its size. For instance, 10 diamonds equaling 1 carat are less expensive than 1 carat diamond.

It’s said that size does not matter; it’s the measure of your love.